1. Skip to content


Garuda Indonesia International Photo Contest (GIIPC) is one of the largest photo contests in Indonesia where every year, thousands of pictures are submitted. GIIPC continues to grow and receives exceptional response from photographers and photography communities all around the world. Te participants of GIIPC 2011 come from 43 countries i.e. Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, France, England, German, Holland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, New Caledonia, New Zealand, North America, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Swiss, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Venezuela.
Categories in this year’s competition are Landscape, Culture, People and Special Award. The total prize reaches IDR 110 million, plus trophies and other kinds of goodies, including Garuda Indonesia flight tickets for the winners on each category. 
GIIPC is a two round contest: Qualification Round and Final Round. The theme for the first round was ‘My Inspiring Homeland’. Participants were expected to describe their countries by exposing the 3 aspects of People, Culture and Landscape within a beautiful picture. The Qualification Round started on July 11, 2011 and ended on September 25, 2011.
On the final round, the finalists are invited to a Hunting Trip to a certain secret destination in Indonesia and compete with each other to find the best photo that they can find in the allotted time. This year, the secret destination is Makassar. The finalists’ task is to capture the beauty of Indonesia in terms of nature, culture and society, with 'Inspiring Indonesia' as its theme.
Although all the finalists will be taken to Makassar, the Opening Ceremony takes place in Aston Hotel, Cengkareng on December 5, 2011. During the Opening Ceremony, there will also be a Q&A session and briefing right after dinner. Then on the next day, the finalists, judges and the board will depart to Makassar.
The Judge Panel consists of Garuda Indonesia representative and experienced photographers such as Agus Leonardus (Indonesia), Arbain Rambey (Indonesia), Ari Suryanta (Indonesia), Jan Dekker (Holland), Makarios Soekojo (Indonesia), Oscar Motulloh (Indonesia), and Tan Lip Seng (Singapore).
The categories of the awards are best culture, best people, best landscape, and special award for best marine photography. The special award goes to Chainarong Phrammanee from Thailand, while the remaining participants for the final round are as follows:
1. Ratu Permata Sari (Indonesia)
2. Dwianasari Setiawati (Indonesia)
3. Nguyen Duy Hau (Vietnam)
4. Le Chao Dao (Vietnam)
5. Hoa Lu Hung (Vietnam)
6. Davendra Sharma (India)
7. Chan Kwok Hung (China)
8. Rahmat Takbir (Indonesia)
9. Wong Chun Tin (China)
10. Junaidi Sudirman (Indonesia)
11. Joao Coutinho (Portugal)
12. Hasiholan Siahaan (Indonesia)
13. Thaib Haidar (Indonesia)
14. Ida Bagus Andi Sucirta (Indonesia)
15. Farzana Hossen (Bangladesh)

The Best Landscape Award goes to Wong Chun Tin from China, while Farzana Hossen wins the Best People. Two Indonesians claim the other two awards, Junaidi Sudirman for Best Culture and IB Andi Sucirta for Best Overall.